Skip to content
Three bovines.

Animal Welfare Ombudsman

The activity of the Animal Welfare Ombudsman has ended on 31 December 2023. This website is no longer updated.

The Animal Welfare Ombudsman promotes and improves the welfare of animals in society through monitoring, initiatives, proposals, statements and other forms of advocacy. Their responsibilities also include supporting and promoting cooperation between different bodies and actors to improve the welfare of animals.

The Animal Welfare Ombudsman participates in the activities of the following animal welfare councils:

The Animal Welfare Ombudsman also participates in the activities of other working groups related to her responsibilities.

The Animal Welfare Ombudsman is an autonomous and independent authority. The Animal Welfare Ombudsman promotes the welfare of animals in society at a general level. The Animal Welfare Ombudsman does not comment on individual cases or carry out animal welfare control. If you observe any poor keeping or handling or ill treatment of animals, please contact a municipal veterinarian or the provincial veterinary officer or the police.

The Animal Welfare Ombudsman’s area of responsibility covers all groups of animals with which people have contact, for example, farm animals, companion and hobby animals, laboratory animals and wild animals when they are the target of human activities.

Animal Welfare Ombudsman in the years 2020–2023

Doctor of Social Sciences Saara Kupsala worked as an Animal Welfare Ombudsman from 1 September 2020 to 31 December 2023. The post of Animal Welfare Ombudsman was based on the Programme of Prime Minister Sanna Marin’s Government. The post was placed in the Finnish Food Authority, and its office was located in Seinäjoki.

Animal Welfare Ombudsman in the years 2013–2015

The post of Animal Welfare Ombudsman was first established in Finland in 2013. Sari Salminen, licentiate of veterinary medicine, occupied the post from 12 August 2013 to 31 December 2015. The fixed-term post was established on the basis of the Programme of Jyrki Katainen’s Government (2011).

Banner picture: Minna Paananen.